All India Drugs Control Officers’ Confederation (AIDCOC) Initiatives begins in December ’95 at Visakhapatnam. Mumbai was chosen as headquarters after all things considered. Today we see one tax in one nation. Such a thought was sown long back that as a nation we need to have one common platform at the All India level. The striving of many Good Samaritans culminated as AIDOC. The AIDCOC serves as an apex body. It represents all the regulatory officers of the country working in the Drugs Control Administration through their respective state associations. AIDCOC is registered as a society under the Registrations of Societies Act, 1986. It’s also registered as a trust under the Bombay Public Trust Act, 1850. Additionally, it’s a Charitable Trust under Sec 80-G of the Income Tax Act 1961.  The Confederation is affiliated to the Indian Pharmaceutical Congress Association (IPCA).

Mission: To achieve professional excellence through continuous training better co ordination among the drugs control officers and more interaction with fellow pharmacist to establish the pharmacist and regulatory officers as vital link in the chain of Health care delivery.

On a rotational basis, once in five years each federating association has a chance to host the Indian Pharmaceutical Congress. This year the 71st IPC is slated to be conducted at Sri Ramachandra Institute of Higher Education and Research (Deemed University) Porur, Chennai. In short span AIDCOC has accomplished well. Regular updates and continuous learning modules have been useful in dissemination knowledge. The relevance is even more considering the fast pace of new information.  One arena where AIDCOC opens up new vistas is in the interactions with lay public and making known the rights of a consumer. The AIDCOC instituted “ Life Time Achievement Award” from the year 2006 in addition to the existing awards “Best Drugs Control Officer”( National Level) and “Best Drugs Inspector” (State Level). The Best Drugs Inspector awards will be presented during the AIDCOC convention and National awards in Indian Pharmaceutical Congress.